TeensHalifax Public Librariesbooks
Halifax Public Libraries


Ten Blog

The Inheritance Cycle by Zach, Teen Blogger


The Inheritance Cycle is a series of four epic fantasy novels written by American author Christopher Paolini.

The series follows the exploits of Eragon, a teenage orphan who becomes the first of a new order of Dragon Riders. Eragon and his dragon Saphira spearhead the attempt to defeat Galbatorix, the evil king of Alagaësia, who hunted down and killed the previous generation of Dragon Riders (who oversaw Alagaësia and brought peace to the world) with help from his traitor Rider allies, the Forsworn.

Eragon- book coverEldest - book coverBrisingr- book coverInheritance - book cover






The first book in the series, Eragon, was self-published by Paolini's family in 2002 and re-published in 2003 by Knopf; it was followed by Eldest in 2005. Both were New York Times bestsellers and together have sold more than 20 million copies worldwide. The third book in the series, Brisingr, was published on September 20, 2008, and the fourth book, Inheritance, was released on November 8,2011.

The series was originally intended to be a trilogy (named the "Inheritance Trilogy") until Paolini announced, on October 30, 2007, while working on the third novel, that he believed the story was too complex to conclude in just three.

Inheritance has garnered much attention due to the fact that Paolini was only fifteen when he began writing the first book, Eragon. Inheritance has also drawn a great deal of criticism from those who feel the nature of the books is derivative of other well-known works of fantasy and science fiction, such as The Lord of the Rings and Star Wars.

In June 2011, Paolini wrote the last few words in the series after more than ten years of work.

In 2006, a feature film was released that is based on the first book in the cycle, Eragon, starring Ed Speleers, Jeremy Irons, John Malkovich and Djimon Hounsou.

Christopher Paolini- photo



Homeschooled by his parents, Christopher Paolini graduated from high school at the age of fifteen, but felt he was not yet mature enough for college, so he wrote Eragon in his spare time. After writing the first draft for a year, he spent a second year rewriting it and fleshing out the story and characters, and then presented it to his parents.

This is magnetic group of novels, and I strongly urge one and all to go and seek this series out at your local public library.

By Zach - Teen Blogger


  • The Lie Tree
  • The way he lived
  • A drop of night
  • Thief of lies
  • Defender
  • Character, driven
  • Every young adult's break-up survival guide
  • Hidden gold
  • The heart of stone
  • The last boy and girl in the world
  • The epidemic
  • I see reality
  • Finding Hope
  • Under the Dusty Moon
  • Flawd
  • Dark energy
  • Hot pterodactyl boyfriend
  • Harmony House
  • Burning
  • See no color
  • One of us
  • A tangle of gold
  • It should have been a #GoodDay
  • Beautiful broken things
  • The radiant road
  • Speak a word for freedom
  • When we collided
  • Hit count
  • Fig
  • The beast of Cretacea
  • Essential maps for the lost
  • Queen
  • Exit, pursued by a bear
  • The Raven King
  • Breakaway
  • The forbidden orchid
  • The young adult's guide to public speaking